Moving on Toward Peace

img_5445

I’ve been away from this blog for quite a while as I worked on other projects, and so it seems fitting to post an official “farewell” to this particular site and its readers.

Observant visitors might have noticed a relatively new link up in the menu bar to another site called “Peace at Last.” This relates to the historical novel that I’m currently writing about the intersecting lives of Alfred Nobel (the inventor of dynamite and, at the time, one of the world’s wealthiest yet loneliest individuals) and Bertha von Suttner (one of the 19th century’s most popular writers and the first female recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize). Though the “Peace at Last” web site is, like the book itself, currently under construction, I encourage you to check it out if you’re interested.

I’ll close out this site with a personal comment about my work on Peace at Last. For me, writing the book these past years has become a means to embrace positivism and offset cynicism in a world that too many portray as hopelessly polarized. In this context, the life stories of Alfred Nobel and Bertha von Suttner offer so much insight and inspiration, and I hope to express their mutual idealism as fully as possible in the pages of the novel. This has been no small task, and so I offer my eternal thanks to anyone and everyone who has contributed in whatever way to the project. Truly, you are with me with every word, and it matters. With one word in particular, it matters most of all.

Peace.

Leave a comment